Edinburgh – 18

Good PT session yesterday.  I’m back to base for a couple of weeks and then a very quick transition and taper.  I suspect Tangier Road is going to see some action.  Fun, getting back into the weight thing, but surprising at how much I’ve lost in terms of how much I can lift.  Still, won’t take long to get back, I suspect.  At least I’m not aching today.

Busy today and scheduling training is going to be a challenge.  Rain has started and is scheduled to pour all day (and night).  More importantly, the band has a gig supporting 2014’s folk singer of the year.  For a folkie like me, that’s a massive deal and I am very nervous.  The rest of the band don’t see it in the same way, which I think is probably a good thing.  But, it means I’ve got to get kit together and leave early for soundcheck and then kick around for a couple of hours.  Suspect, I will be having a drink or two this evening.  I had the job of putting the setlist together for this one and it’s really a choice of standard country style numbers that we do in our sleep or the other more challenging stuff which is more original.  I tried to get an even mix, but it’s going to be a tough one, I think.  Still, haven’t seen much advertising, suspect we will be outnumbering the audience.

Also discovered a problem with next year’s plans.  Brighton is the day before Boston.  So, there’s no way that I can run both, logistics just won’t get me there unless I get a private jet (and even then).  I’ve paid for Brighton, but could let it go to give me Boston, London, Belfast.  Or I could give Boston a miss, which would also be a shame.  Still, can’t think about Boston until September, so plenty of time for strategising.

About Martin Hall

I'm a distance runner in my late 50s and I'm not bad at it (top 5% of my age group). I also play various musical instruments, the current fave being the ukulele and I'm in several bands ranging from two to 100+ in size.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

